Tips for Managing your Sage Estimating Projects

Dec 7, 2020

While most users are aware of the power of Sage Estimating to build cost estimates, there are also tools available within the application suite to help manage the estimate catalog history as well as protect selected projects from unauthorized changes. This can help monitor the estimating department as a whole, as well as put controls in place as to who can do what.

Managing Your Estimates

You can keep your catalog of available Sage Estimating projects both organized and current by navigating to File > Manage Estimates within the main application.

Working with catalog estimates…

Typing a portion of the estimate name in the “Search” box will quickly filter out eligible projects containing only those key words.

Managing Sage Estimates Screen

Hovering the mouse over the name of an estimate will reveal the date/time the project was last accessed, as well as the network user ID of the individual that did so.

Left-clicking on an estimate will show you the same project attributes that you would see when navigating to Home > Info with the estimate open. 

Clicking the [Edit] button permits you to change any of these attributes directly from here, as well as grant access to the estimate to other users (necessary if the EMC “Allow all users to view and edit all estimates” option is unchecked).

Dragging/dropping an estimate to a new target branch location enables you to quickly rearrange your project list as your needs evolve.  You may also select multiple estimates at one time, then drag/drop your selections to the same target branch.

Right-clicking on an estimate enables you export it to a compressed zip file, which you can then export to other Sage Estimating systems or simply delete from the estimate catalog if you no longer need it in your active list.  Export files may contain multiple projects in a single archive.

Sage Estimating Maintenance Screen

Working with catalog branches…

Clicking on a branch heading will show you a list of all estimates contained directly within that heading in the grid to the right, which is both sortable and filterable by the visible column headings.

Clicking the [Columns…] button will permit you to alter the visible column view by exposing the “Show/Hide” criteria for all available project attributes.

Dragging/dropping any visible column heading to the target area above the results grid will then sort the list by that heading.

Estimating Management

Clicking the [Export…] button will enable you to export the current list of all estimates within the current branch, along with the current column view and any result filtering you have applied.

Right-clicking on any branch in the estimate catalog allows you to…

Either rename the current description or create a new subheading for future use (controlled by access to the “Edit shared catalog” feature).

Import estimates previously exported to an archive file to reinstate the project to active access.

Dragging/dropping a branch to a new location also moves all estimates and/or subheadings contained within it (controlled by access to the “Edit shared catalog” feature).

Securing Your Estimates

You can protect both the catalog branch structure as well as access rights to individual estimates within the [Security] menu of the Estimating Management Console (EMC).

Under the Users tab…

Restricting users from membership to security roles having the “Edit shared catalog” feature prevents them from altering the estimate catalog branch structure.

Marking users as “Disabled” restricts access to any content within the active SQL data instance for those individuals.

Sage Estimating Rules Screen

Under the Roles tab…

Clicking the [Add] button permits you to create a new security group with your own unique blend of available access features.

Clicking the [Edit] button enables you adjust the permissible feature access for existing roles.

Under the Estimates tab…

Enabling the option to “Allow all users to view and edit all estimates” permits all Sage Estimating users to open/edit all projects globally while still keeping other securitized features intact.

Disabling the option to “Allow all users to view and edit all estimates” ensures that all non-Administrator users can only view/access projects they created and selectively permit full or read-only access to their estimates by others.

Have a Question?

Click below to get in touch with our experienced team of construction technology experts that will follow up and help you build a better business.

ARTICLES BY TOPIC


GET OUR NEWSLETTER

GET OUR NEWSLETTER

Join 12,000+ other Contractors and Construction Pros that get our free tech tips delivered straight to their inbox!

Success! Thanks for subscribing and keep an eye on your inbox for our next article.

Share This